The third period started in a very special way for Athens Philharmonia Orchestra, giving a concert in Benaki Museum and beginning the collaboration with the famous clarinetist Spyros Mourikis and maestro Michalis Economou. This time, the orchestra honored a very special Greek composer, Thodoros Antoniou and played “Commos B’’, a threnody for symphonic orchestra that belongs in a collection of works with the same name but different orchestration.
Spiros Mourikis enchanted the audience playing Carl Maria von Weber’s Concerto for clarinet and orchestra in F minor, op.73.

Athens Philharmonia performed for the first time also Johannes Brahm’s “Symphony no 2” in D Major, op.73 in the second part of the concert.

Thodoros Antoniou

  • Commos B

Carl Maria von Weber 

  • Concerto for clarinet and orchestra no1, in F minor, op.73

    Soloist: Spyros Mourikis, clarinet
Johannes Brahms

  • Symphony no 2 in D Major, op.73

Conductor: Michalis Economou
Soloist: Spyros Mourikis

Sunday,16 September 2018, 20:30
Benaki Museum, Pireus 138