Nikos Skalkotas: Two lost manuscripts in Berlin of the 1930ies

The Athens Phiharmonia Orchestra’s debut at the Athens Concert Hall followed the invitation of The Friends of Music Society, and featured two of Nikos Skalkotas’ works, which were considered lost until now. These two pieces had been recently discovered in America by Giannis Tselikas. They were purchased by the “Lilian Voudouri” Music Library of Athens and orchestrated by Giannis Sabrovalakis (Hellenic Music Centre). This was their World first performance.

In this very interesting concert, the Athens Philharmonia Orchestra guided the audience through the aesthetics and atmosphere of the interwar period. The concert also included two pieces, by Nikos Skalkotas’s teachers, Paul Juon and Kurt Weill, and one piece of Yannis Constantinidis, who was Skalkotas’ classmate in Berlin.


Paul Juon, Ingeborg’s Lament, Orchestral Ballade, Op. 3a

Nikos Skalkotas, Suite for violin and small orchestra

Nikos Skalkotas, Concerto for violin, piano and orchestra

Yannis Constantinidis, Dodecanesian Suite, no 2

Kurt Weill, Symphony no 2



George Demertzis, violin

Vassilis Varvaresos, piano



Byron Fidetzis


Tuesday, February 13th 2018

“Christos Lambrakis” Hall at the Athens Megaron

In collaboration with The Friends of Music Society