Celebrating Spring with Greek Music

The Athens Philharmonia Orchestra performed a very special concert for the closing of its third artistic season: it included four masterpieces by Greek composers, who represent the past and present of Greek art music. This concert was a part of the 15th “Greek Music Fiests”, a series of concerts taking place every year to celebrate Greek music. Byron Fidetzis, the conductor and artistic director of the AphO, initiated this series 15 years ago. For this concert Fidetzis selected pieces by four Greek composers from the 19th, the 20th and the 21th century.


Yannis Papaioannou: Samothraki

Dinos Konstantinidis: New Orleans Divertimento, for five solo brass and orchestra
Soloists: Yannis Karampetsos, Dionisios Agalianos (trumpet)
Dimitris Fronimos (horn)
Andreas Kolpodinos (trombone)
Menelaos Moraitis (tuba)

Pavlos Karrer: Sinfonia from opera Maria Antonietta

Dionisios Rodotheatos: Allegorical Rapsody, Symphonic Poem

Conductor: Byron Fidetzis

Sunday, May 19, 2019
Artemis Concert Hall